Advertising Disclosure

RealDatingReviews.com is a free comparison website that is compensated by third party providers if a visitor clicks on one of our links, registers or purchases a membership on sites that appear on RealDatingReviews.com. Without this commission we would not be able to offer this service, which is free for visitors. Domains and hosting cost money and work for the administration and maintenance of RealDatingReviews.com is time-consuming and cost-intensive. Through this there are no additional costs for visitors!

The performance, conversion rate and popularity of the sites that appear on RealDatingReviews.com as well as the compensation we receive by third party providers impacts the location and order in which the companies and/or their products are presented and also have an impact on the rating that is assigned to them. The ratings that appear on this site are determined by our subjective opinion and are also based on the performance, conversion rate, brand popularity and compensation received by third party providers. However, in some cases we do not receive any commission at all but still want to present a variety of sites to you. A list of paying and non-paying third party providers, a detailed explanation on our affiliate relationships and a review and analysis process explanation can be found here.

By using RealDatingReviews.com, you assent to this advertising disclosure, as well as the disclosure Privacy Policy and Terms of Use which are incorporated by reference. You are not obligated to use the website, initiate contact with providers, or agree to purchase any service. The information, including prices, that appear on RealDatingReviews.com is subject to change at any time.

Dating


Match Review

8.9

Match.com
Visit the site

Match Review. Experience, Prices, Features and Alternatives. How well does Match work?

Our Match Review

The idea of Match was birthed in the year 1993 but the website itself came into existence 2 years later in 1995. The plan initially was not to create a dating website per se but just to find out the feasibility of an online classified ads platform for dating. Ever since it was created, it has continued to be in operation since then. From a relatively modest amount of initial users, Match has managed to grow its members exponentially and continues to do so even till present. 

How Does Match Work?

According to the website, they have matched up a ton of people successfully and have thus produced more marriages and relationships than any other dating site. Of course this claim is debatable but then haven been in existence since 1995 (officially), it's hard to argue against their claim. In life, experience matters. The handlers of the site are confident of your ability to find a partner through their site and are willing to sacrifice their financial profits to backup their claim. This is probably why they offer a guarantee that if you don’t find your ideal match in six months or less, they will offer you 6-month membership for free membership as compensation. 

Match boasts of a membership strength of about 20 million out of which about 13 million originate from or are domiciled in the US. Out of the 20 million members, about 8 million are signed up to their premium package. What exactly is the focus of this site and how have them been able to revitalize themselves and remained stellar after such a long period of existence, this Match review seeks to find out. 

Who Should Join Match?

Match is clearly a pro dating website rather than pro cheating. Members of the website are required to state their relationship status and those that acclaim to be in an existing relationship are not allowed to linger on the site. Many of their members seem to be interested in serious relationships hence the member activity tends to be high. 

Signing up is quick and smooth. There is a profile builder that can help you build your profile so as to help you through any hitch or glitch you might encounter while building your profile. Although no account verification is needed, you will be required to upload a profile picture as well as fill out a personal information form.  

The website and the app have a simple design and the features of the website can be seen in the site's header menu and they can likewise be seen in the mobile app icons. Icons are used in place of words in member's profiles to describe sections and information's pertaining to the member. 

Final Verdict - Is Match Worth Paying For? 

The verdict of this Match review is that the website seems honest and the handlers seem to know their onions. Their long period of existence is a plus and you can try them out albeit to seek out a new relationship rather than cheating as the site is not a hookup site and frowns against cheating. 

Are There Any Match Alternatives? 

As mentioned, Match is not a hookup site. So if that is what you are looking for rather join BeNaughty or AdultFriendFinder. If you are looking for a Match alternative to find a serious relationship, we encourage you to use Mingle2day or eHarmony. Both have a solid member base with many users from all over the world. 

 

Other sites in the same category

Match.com reviews:

  • 2017-12-27 17:48:55, (, ?)

    Beware!! Match does not take down profiles of reported scammers!

    Review:

    I have had 3 different people try to scam me out of money on this site with almost identical scenarios. I have reported them to Match via the report profile button that they have asked for money. Both profiles are still up and active in spite of the fact that Match could easily read their message asking me for money. Match does not care, period. I've also called them 4 times and each time they promised it would be addressed and nothing was done. It's impossible to contact their US headquarters as all calls go to the call center. They simply do not care.
  • 2017-12-13 18:47:42, (, ?)

    Account cancelled

    Review:

    After a few days on Match.com and setting up my profile I received a message from a girl that wanted to meet. When I decided to subscribe for messages I was told through the site that my account is up for review and a day later it was cancelled for some unknown reason. Of course due to the terms of use and privacy terms I wasn't able to inquire about the termination of my account. Match.com is a terrible dating app and a total waste of time!!!
  • 2017-12-04 19:24:06, (, ?)

    Don't use this site!!!

    Review:

    There are no guys on this site. They won't stop billing your credit card. I had to call them several times to stop them from charging for a service I never used, they kept telling me they turned off the renewal, but didn't. I asked to speak to a manager and they refused. DON'T USE THIS SITE!!!
  • 2017-12-01 15:46:42, (, ?)

    MATCH.COM IS A RIP OFF

    Review:

    JOINED MATCH.COM AND SELECTED THE 6 MONTH OPTION ($131.95) MATCH TERMINATED MY CONTRACT ONLY AFTER ONE DAY AND REFUSES TO REFUND MY MONEY. DO NOT JOIN THIS ONLINE DATING SERVICE. PROFILES ARE OUT OF DATE, MOST MEMBERS ARE NO LONGER MEMBERS. WHAT A RIP OFF! STAY AWAY!
  • 2017-11-30 22:32:26, (, ?)

    Scam

    Review:

    My daughter gave me a 6 month subscription for my birthday in 2016 and since then I have had no real matches and the few matches I have gotten were all scammers trying to get money. On top of that, apparently there is an auto renewal on the account so your credit card will continue getting hit until you cancel the subscription. If you don’t notice the charge within 2 days of the auto renewal they refuse to give money back (not even a portion). Overall match.com is a scam and only has scammers on the website. I have called them and been hung up on and refused the opportunity to talk to supervisors three times today. On top of this, American Express won’t help because of the stupid auto renewal when you sign up. My daughter didn’t have access to my account to cancel the subscription or turn off the auto renewal but she also couldn’t call and have it turned off without me being on the phone even though it was a charge to her credit card. Lastly, the match guarantee is a hoax. Not only does it have to be within the first 6 months, but it isn’t a refund, instead it is another free six months so you can just feel shitty about yourself and check daily to see that you have no matches. If they really want to back their word they would offer refunds but alas they don’t. Why would I want a free 6 months after not finding anyone or having any luck for 6 months? Useless, tinder or bumble will get you more lasting and committed results than this piece of shit.
  • 2017-11-22 09:11:33, (, ?)

    Disappointed handsome gay man

    Review:

    I guess I am a senior who is gay, handsome and successful in business and still found no match on match.com. I did month to month subscription and no luck. I feel the majority of men to just have no substance. Just looking for sex and a good time. No one seems to know what they really want save your money it’s not worth it.
  • 2017-11-21 20:33:17, (, ?)

    Terrible customer service

    Review:

    Match continue takiNguyen money out of my back account with out me knowingredients. When I ask to talk to a manager they refused to let me and huang up on me. Worst customer service ever.
  • 2017-11-19 18:35:16, (, ?)

    fine for newbies

    Review:

    Perfectly good site if UR new to online dating, most people prob start there until they find the best for meeting singles in their local area. I used it fine for a month or two.
  • 2017-11-18 16:55:31, (, ?)

    So many members in the US so it gives you the best chance

    Review:

    Reviewer calls Match.com the coca cola of dating and its hard to argue. Maybe tinder comes close but you soon realize it's full of crazies. Match has the numbers and the people are mostly looking for something serious, it's as simple as that. Besides, if you really want to meet someone do you go to the busiest bar or an empty one? You do the math.
  • 2017-11-09 16:16:35, (, ?)

    Match.com are great at one thing scamming people!

    Review:

    I was looking for a dating site that wasn't surrounded with "hooking up", or the repetitive annoying dating scene, but something meaningful and classy more upscale. Being a single mother of 2 I decided to give this a try, it was a free offer why not. But with the free offer if I did not cancel within 7 days I understood my card would be billed and rebilled for continuation of services. After I entered my card I was redirected to another page through match.com and it asked if I was sure, I was still second guessing but the page refreshed and I was a member,I didn't mind it was a free trial as of 07/29/17. I read and understood that my card was NOT TO BE CHARGED UNTIL AFTER 7 DAYS OF A FREE TRIAL. This was not the case the very next day 7/30/17 the charge went thru. I noticed this on 7/31/17 and emailed to contact the company stating there must be an issue I was billed. Well when someone finally got back to me I responded promptly that I would like to cancel and get my money back. This was an on going email reply with the company until someone was like give us a call. I work 2 jobs and email was my only chance of contact, but I called on my only day off and the person was like you used this service we cannot refund you. I was like well I only used the service within the trial period, so you are telling me that you offer a trial period but if I say yes and use the service I am automatically billed? He stated yes. So I was instructed to contact my bank to see what they could do about these fraudulent charges and they opened a case. I did. But then I was told I needed to deactivate the account which I asked for not once but twice via email with the company. Well now 3 months later I am being told that I cannot find out anything from match.com until December 24th 2017!!! 5 MONTHS AFTER I ASKED FOR THIS NIGHTMARE TO BE OVER! I am furious that this company's customer service is unhelpful. There is no supervisors to talk to and I don't think my concerns reached the proper authority to handle the situation and if it did I feel sorry for the numerous other singles that have been taken advantage and mislead the way I have. Math.com is not what it says to be, I would highly recommend Tinder or Plenty of Fish over this scam of a business. The only thing I requested was to cancel services and receive my hard earned money ($59.70) back to use towards a legitimate company who doesn't prey on singles. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKI93jsaPhU
  • 2017-11-05 14:23:05, (, ?)

    Absolute crap.

    Review:

    Worst dating site in the entire world. The number of real profiles would be easier to count than the fake ones. Scammers EVERYWHERE. Glitches that NEVER get fixed. Accounts hacked left and right. Oh, and your filters; forget about those. They don’t work. If you’re looking for someone without kids, Match will still send you hundreds of people with kids. If you don’t want a smoker, you’ll get them anyways. Forget about reporting anyone too. Nothing gets done. The kicker, match gets hacked so often that instead of investigating, they just block and permanently delete your profile and won’t refund your money. It was an absolute disappointment and waste of money. I suggest staying faaaaaaar away from this site.
  • 2017-11-03 01:51:46, (, ?)

    Waste of $$$

    Review:

    Around 89% of the men who write me on match are very obviously "Fakes." I can tell right away because men do not typically write or speak they way they do and they will always call you "pretty" in fact one wrote me today and here is what he wrote: "Hi pretty, do you mind for a glass of wine?" You would think they would at least learn proper English if they are going to try to scam people. I get these almost on a daily basis then I report the fake profile to match.com and then it is gone. I think Match must like the fakes because it makes people who are considering joining want to join because they can't see who their emails are from or read them until they pay...then they subscribe and they can read or see that it was not from someone from this country. If Match really didn't like the fakes, they would do something about it, this has been going on for years! I have very few fakes write me on the free websites, so what does that say? This is my last go round with Match, I have given them more than enough years to get their act together and do something to deter all the fakes. Once time I had one fake/scammer take over my profile and I became a man over night (they deleted all my photos and put up photos of men) once it was resolved, of course no man that I had been messaging with would speak to me fearing I really was a man. Of course match didn't offer me anything for my troubles. Just stick with the free sites, they are actually better than match!
  • 2017-10-22 13:43:15, (, ?)

    Dont believe the hype!

    Review:

    Match.com are the best example of a site that makes a lot of noise but does very little better than its competition. In other words, it's bark is far bigger than it's bite. Show me someone that says they deserve to be the best known dating site for reasons other than splashing marketing dollars and ill show you a liar. Keep your expectations minimal and hope for the best, but ill not be going back at all.
  • 2017-10-07 04:22:24, (, ?)

    Match, same losers, fakes, liars and impostors

    Review:

    I have to say match has the worse men I've ever seen, too many players, same losers you see every single day, liars, scammers, impostors. I hate it!!!! Makes me wanna puke all over the place!
  • 2017-10-03 02:15:03, (, ?)

    Not happy

    Review:

    Umm I’ve been on match for two weeks and the guys who I’ve emailed hasn’t even read them. Not sure if theysubscribed but no one has responded back but 3 out of 19 guys. That’s weird to me. And then ask me my preference and I said black men but they still give me by daily matches with white men. Don’t understand that either. Well I guess I shall see what happens in the next couple months.
  • 2017-10-02 01:48:03, (, ?)

    Full of playboys

    Review:

    I’m honestly I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve tried match.com for the third time after being pulled in by their commercial of guaranteed define love
  • 2017-09-26 14:40:50, (, ?)

    Do Not Use Match (If you do, go month-to-month)

    Review:

    VERY DISSATISFIED CUSTOMER.... The site offers a smaller monthly rate to do more months. Not aloud a refund after wanting to canx the 1st month? They entice with a lessor monthly rate for more months, but cannot get a refund if the site is not for you and/or you find a match early. Why can't they revert the price back to the 1 month rate and refund my money for months not used? Here is a Hypothetical under their current policy. Let's say you pay for a two year rate and find a match early and want to canx. You are charged the two years for the match. Whereas if we go month-to-month on original rate. You end paying way less when you find a match or just want to quit. This is a bad business practice and needs to be reported the appropriate gov agency and write many many reviews telling folks not to use your site. and if they do please only go month to month because it will cost less in the long run. WATCH OUT............
  • 2017-09-21 03:23:37, (, ?)

    I've realized now there are better options

    Review:

    I remember how darn excited I was signing up to match, like many it was my first online dating experience. Unfortunately, I have found far, far better dating websites since those naïve days, where I mist have spend a fair whack on barely a sniff of a date. I guess some things just ain't all that they're cracked up to be, you know?
  • 2017-09-02 06:32:11, (, ?)

    Keep coming back so that says a lot

    Review:

    Met my last boyfriend on match and im a member again so that says it all I suppose!
  • 2017-08-31 02:45:17, (, ?)

    Dont get all the fuss about match, really dont :-(

    Review:

    The people ive spoken to in general have absolutely no sense of humor & unless you live in a smaller town you can find plenty of singles on any dating site. It's all too serious IMHO. It's like watching an old black & white movie – it may play fine but without color it's a lot more boring.
  • 2017-08-18 11:16:35, (, ?)

    Still one of the best

    Review:

    Still takes a lot to beat match, trust me ive tried other apps and sites and always come back. If you havent tried it then its a no brainer. Easy to use so dont worry about that and they offer extra value with new additions every so often, like organised match nights out and things like that. Will be interesting to see how their new crossed paths/ missed connections feature works, looking forward to trying that as I always liked using 'happn' when I first started online dating so this should be a good addition for the paid users of match.

Write your review